Zebra VC8300 Vehicle Mount Computer

Zebra vehicle mount computers

VC8300 Vehicle Mount Computers

Compare the 8-inch keyboard-and-touch model with the 10-inch touch-focused model. Find the display, power, mounting, connectivity and freezer details for each configuration in one place.

Zebra VC8300 series vehicle mount computer

VC8300 series image. Screen and keyboard configuration vary by model.

Model guide

Compare the 8-inch and 10-inch VC8300

The choice changes the display, keyboard arrangement, freezer touchscreen and some licensing details. Both use the Snapdragon 660 platform with 4 GB RAM and 32 GB Flash.

Integrated keyboard and touch

VC8300 8-inch

  • 8-inch display, 1280 × 720 resolution and 1,000-nit brightness
  • Integrated backlit 67-key QWERTY or AZERTY keyboard
  • 12 direct function keys and a diamond key for the on-screen keyboard
  • Capacitive multi-touch with optional touchscreen heater
  • Keyboard and UPS battery described as field replaceable
  • PTT Express listed as included
Larger touch display

VC8300 10-inch

  • Actual display: 10.4 inches, 1024 × 768 resolution and 400-nit brightness
  • Six programmable keys; optional heated external keyboard and tray
  • Standard version: capacitive multi-touch
  • Freezer version: heated resistive touchscreen
  • WPA3 Personal and Enterprise listed in this sheet
  • PTT Express and PTT Pro licenses listed as optional purchases

“10-inch” is the product name; its detailed specification is a 10.4-inch screen. Both sheets list the same external dimensions and weight. Optional equipment and software should be checked against the selected part number.

FeatureVC8300 8-inchVC8300 10-inch
Display8 in.; 1280 × 720; 1,000 nits.10.4 in.; 1024 × 768; 400 nits. Sold as the VC8300 10-inch.
Primary inputIntegrated backlit 67-key alphanumeric keyboard and capacitive multi-touch display.Touch-focused design. Six programmable keys. Optional heated external QWERTY/AZERTY keyboard and mounting tray.
Touchscreen / freezer optionCapacitive multi-touch with Corning Gorilla Glass. Touchscreen heater and anti-reflective foil are options.Standard: capacitive multi-touch with Corning Gorilla Glass.
Freezer: resistive touchscreen for a passive stylus or finger, with an integrated touchscreen heater.
Processor and memorySnapdragon 660 octa-core, 2.2 GHz; 4 GB RAM / 32 GB Flash pSLC.Snapdragon 660 octa-core, 2.2 GHz; 4 GB RAM / 32 GB Flash pSLC.
AndroidUpgradeable to Android 14.Upgradeable to Android 14.
Dimensions and weight276 × 238 × 90 mm (W × H × D); 3.7 kg.276 × 238 × 90 mm (W × H × D); 3.7 kg.
Vehicle power input10 to 60 V DC, isolated; internal.12 to 48 V DC nominal; 10 to 60 V DC min./max.; isolated, integrated supply.
Backup powerUPS: minimum 30 minutes across the full operating temperature range.Heated UPS: minimum 30 minutes across the full operating temperature range.
Sealing and operating rangeIP66; -22°F to 122°F / -30°C to 50°C.IP66; -22°F to 122°F / -30°C to 50°C.
Humidity5% to 95% RH, condensing, as listed in the 8-inch sheet.Standard: 5% to 95%, non-condensing.
Freezer: 5% to 95%, condensing, with internal heating.
PTT ExpressListed as included. Optional speaker/microphone.Optional license available for purchase. Optional external speaker/microphone.
Accessory compatibility describedFootnote identifies Zebra VC70 and VC50 accessories.Narrative identifies VC80x and other existing accessories; no detailed compatibility matrix is supplied.
At a glance

Shared platform for vehicle-based workflows

These core specifications are listed for both models.

8

Octa-core processing

Qualcomm Snapdragon 660 at 2.2 GHz, 4 GB RAM and 32 GB Flash pSLC. Both sheets list an upgrade path to Android 14.

IP

IP66 protection

IP66 sealing and an operating range of -22°F to 122°F / -30°C to 50°C. Freezer and heater options still need to match the application.

30

UPS backup power

Minimum 30-minute UPS life across the full operating temperature range for interruptions to the vehicle’s main power supply.

TE

Terminal emulation

Ivanti Velocity is preloaded and prelicensed. All-touch TE is described for migrating green-screen workflows to interactive Android screens.

Upgradeable to Android 14 does not mean that Android 14 is preinstalled. UPS backup duration is not a full-shift standalone battery specification.

Specifications

Hardware, display and controls

Model-specific details are kept in separate columns, including the standard and freezer touchscreen distinction.

FeatureVC8300 8-inchVC8300 10-inch
ProcessorQualcomm Snapdragon 660 octa-core, 2.2 GHz.Qualcomm Snapdragon 660 octa-core, 2.2 GHz.
Operating systemUpgradeable to Android 14. Factory-installed version is not specified.Upgradeable to Android 14. Factory-installed version is not specified.
Memory4 GB RAM / 32 GB Flash pSLC.4 GB RAM / 32 GB Flash pSLC.
Dimensions (W × H × D)10.87 × 9.37 × 3.54 in. / 276 × 238 × 90 mm.10.87 × 9.37 × 3.54 in. / 276 × 238 × 90 mm.
Weight8.2 lb / 3.7 kg.8.2 lb / 3.7 kg.
Display8-inch color display; 1280 × 720; 1,000 nits.10.4-inch color XGA display; 1024 × 768; 400 nits.
Touch panelCapacitive multi-touch; Corning Gorilla Glass with air gap. Heater option and anti-reflective foil option. Bare or gloved finger operation is described.Standard: capacitive multi-touch; Corning Gorilla Glass with air gap; bare or gloved finger use described.
Freezer: resistive touchscreen with passive stylus or finger operation; integrated heater evaporates external condensation.
KeyboardIntegrated QWERTY or AZERTY; backlit, field-replaceable, full alphanumeric; 67 keys and 12 direct function keys.Optional heated external QWERTY or AZERTY keyboard; optional keyboard mounting tray.
Additional controlsDiamond key opens a configurable on-screen keyboard for additional characters.Six programmable keys; volume/brightness controls; blue key for second-level functions; on/off key; diamond key opens the on-screen keyboard.
IndicatorsAudible tone; green/amber power-status LED; red warning LED.Audible tone; green/amber power-status LED; red warning LED; blue-key status LED.
AudioHigh-volume 87 dB speaker; optional push-to-talk speaker microphone.High-volume 87 dBA speaker; optional external speaker/microphone. Wide Band Audio is described for voice applications.
SensorsTemperature, accelerometer and gyroscope.Temperature, motion/accelerometer and gyroscope.
Expansion storageNo microSD slot or expansion capacity is specified in the supplied sheet.No microSD slot or expansion capacity is specified in the supplied sheet.

Dimensions, weight and specifications are taken from each supplied sheet. Optional external keyboards and accessories should not be assumed to be included in the listed device weight.

Vehicle power

Power input and UPS backup

Check the vehicle’s DC supply, the selected heating configuration and peripheral power requirements.

FeatureVC8300 8-inchVC8300 10-inch
DC input10 to 60 V DC, isolated; internal.12 to 48 V DC nominal; 10 to 60 V DC min./max. Isolated, integrated power supply.
UPS backup durationMinimum 30-minute life over the full operating temperature range.Heated UPS; minimum 30-minute life over the full operating temperature range.
UPS heatingFreezer/condensing section describes a heated, vented UPS battery that charges and discharges across -30°C to 50°C.Heated, vented UPS battery charges and discharges across -30°C to 50°C. The narrative describes this heated battery as standard.
ServiceabilityKeyboard and UPS battery are described as replaceable at your facility.Quick release for device movement during vehicle maintenance and repair is described. Field replacement of the UPS battery is not specified in this sheet.
Power-consumption figuresNot supplied. Do not apply the 10-inch consumption figures to this model.Conditional off, suspend and run-mode figures are listed below.
UPS capacity and charging timeNot specified.Not specified.

The 8-inch sheet’s power entry reads “10 to 60V DC isolated; Internal.” A separate nominal voltage range is not provided for that model. Neither sheet specifies direct AC mains input.

VC8300 10-inch power consumption

ModePower drawConditions in the 10-inch sheet
OffLess than 1 WDevice off.
Suspend4 to 7.5 WDevice in suspend mode.
Run mode, lower-load condition10 to 13 WDisplay at 50% brightness; keyboard backlight off; Wi-Fi receiving; UPS battery fully charged.
Run mode, higher-load condition36 to 40 WDisplay at 100% brightness; keyboard backlight at 100%; Wi-Fi receiving and transmitting; UPS charging; scanner connected.
Run mode with touchscreen heater61 to 65 WThe higher-load conditions above, with the touchscreen heater also on.

These figures apply only to the 10-inch model and the stated conditions. The source includes keyboard-backlight and scanner conditions even though the external keyboard is optional. Actual configuration and operating state determine power demand.

Wireless LAN and PAN

Wi-Fi and Bluetooth 5.0

Both models list 2×2 MU-MIMO, dual-band Wi-Fi, Class 2 Bluetooth 5.0 and BLE, with software-switchable internal or external WLAN antennas.

  • 5 GHz data rateUp to 866.7 Mbps
  • 2.4 GHz data rateUp to 300 Mbps
  • Fast roamingPMKID caching, Cisco CCKM, OKC and 802.11r
External data capture

Connect a scanner or peripheral

The sheets describe external barcode scanners and wired or Bluetooth peripherals. Neither specifies an integrated barcode scan engine.

  • Scanner protocolsHID and SSI over USB/Bluetooth, as listed below
  • Serial supportRS-232 with power on pin 9
  • AudioOptional speaker/microphone for push-to-talk

Maximum wireless data rates are not guaranteed application throughput. Check scanner model, interface, power and software compatibility for the intended setup.

Ports and peripheral support

FeatureVC8300 8-inchVC8300 10-inch
USB-C1 × USB 3.0 Type-C combination host/client port.1 × USB 3.0 Type-C combination host/client port.
USB 2.0 host1 × USB 2.0 host port, covered with strain relief.1 × USB 2.0 host port supporting BC1.2.
Powered USB1 × powered USB 2.0 host port; 12 V / 1.5 A, covered with strain relief.1 × powered USB 2.0 host port; 12 V / 1.5 A.
Serial ports2 × RS-232 COM ports with power on pin 9.2 × RS-232 COM ports with power on pin 9.
Audio jack1 × 3.5 mm jack for push-to-talk speaker/microphone, covered with strain relief.1 × 3.5 mm jack for push-to-talk speaker/microphone.
Port protectionUSB 2.0 ports and audio jack are explicitly listed with strain relief and covers; the narrative also describes sealed connectors.The sheet states all ports have strain relief and covers.
EthernetOptional USB-Ethernet adapter is listed.An Ethernet port or USB-Ethernet adapter is not specified in this sheet.
External scanner supportHID via USB and Bluetooth; SSI via USB and Bluetooth for DS/LI 36XX and RS6000; serial RS-232 with power on pin 9.HID via USB and Bluetooth; SSI via USB and Bluetooth for DS/LI 36XX and RS6000; serial RS-232 with power on pin 9.
Barcode captureCorded and cordless external scanners are described. No integrated scan engine is specified.External scanner support and DataWedge are described. No integrated scan engine is specified.
Other peripheralsMobile printers and a push-to-talk microphone are described.Bluetooth headsets, handheld scanners and printers, plus an optional external speaker/microphone, are described.

An item not listed in one source is marked as not specified, rather than assumed to be absent or shared with the other model.

Wireless specifications

FeatureVC8300 8-inchVC8300 10-inch
Wi-Fi standardsIEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/k/r; 2×2 MU-MIMO.IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n/ac/k/r/d/h/i/v/w; IPv4 and IPv6; 2×2 MU-MIMO.
Maximum listed data rates5 GHz (802.11a/n/ac): up to 866.7 Mbps.
2.4 GHz (802.11b/g/n): up to 300 Mbps.
5 GHz (802.11a/n/ac): up to 866.7 Mbps.
2.4 GHz (802.11b/g/n): up to 300 Mbps.
Operating channels2.4 GHz: channels 1 to 13 (2412 to 2472 MHz).
5 GHz: 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140, 144, 149, 153, 157, 161 and 165 (5180 to 5825 MHz).
2.4 GHz: channels 1 to 13 (2412 to 2472 MHz).
5 GHz: 36, 40, 44, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 100, 104, 108, 112, 116, 120, 124, 128, 132, 136, 140, 144, 149, 153, 157, 161 and 165 (5180 to 5825 MHz).
Channel widths20, 40 and 80 MHz. Actual channels, frequencies and bandwidths depend on regulatory rules and certification.20, 40 and 80 MHz. Actual channels, frequencies and bandwidths depend on regulatory rules and certification.
Wi-Fi securityWEP (40/104-bit); WPA/WPA2 Personal and Enterprise (TKIP and AES). WPA3 is not listed in the supplied 8-inch sheet.WEP (40/104-bit); WPA/WPA2 Personal (TKIP and AES); WPA3 Personal (SAE); WPA/WPA2 Enterprise (TKIP and AES); WPA3 Enterprise (AES); Enhanced Open (OWE).
AuthenticationEAP-TTLS (PAP, MSCHAP, MSCHAPv2); EAP-TLS; PEAPv0-MSCHAPv2; PEAPv1-EAP-GTC; LEAP; EAP-PWD.EAP-TTLS (PAP, MSCHAP, MSCHAPv2, GTC); EAP-TLS; PEAPv0-MSCHAPv2; PEAPv1-EAP-GTC; LEAP; EAP-PWD. Also lists “WPA Enterprise 192-bit (GCMP-256)” with EAP-TLS.
FIPS statementFIPS 140-2 Level 1 for data in motion and data at rest, as listed in the sheet.FIPS 140-2 Level 1 for data in motion and data at rest, as listed in the sheet.
MultimediaWi-Fi Multimedia: WMM and WMM-PS, including TSPEC.Wi-Fi Multimedia: WMM and WMM-PS, including TSPEC.
Wi-Fi certifications listedWFA: 802.11n, WMM-PS, 802.11ac, PMF, WMM-AC, Voice Enterprise, Wi-Fi Direct and WPS 2.0.WFA: 802.11n, 802.11ac, PMF, WMM-PS, WMM-AC, Voice Enterprise and Wi-Fi Direct.
Fast roamingPMKID caching, Cisco CCKM, OKC and 802.11r.PMKID caching, Cisco CCKM, OKC and 802.11r.
WLAN antennasSoftware-switchable internal or external antennas; magnetic-mounted antenna options.Software-switchable internal or external antennas; whip and magnetic-mounted antenna options.
BluetoothClass 2 Bluetooth 5.0 and Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE).Class 2 Bluetooth 5.0 and BLE. The narrative also describes Bluetooth Classic and BLE dual-mode support.
Cellular, SIM and GPSCellular radios, SIM support and GPS hardware are not specified.Cellular radios, SIM support and GPS hardware are not specified.

The 10-inch source lists WPA3; the 8-inch source does not. Verify requirements against the selected device and OS configuration. PTT software location services do not establish an integrated GPS receiver.

Freezer and durability

Choose the right cold-storage configuration

Both sheets describe freezer use, but touchscreen technology and condensation specifications are not identical.

VC8300 8-inch

Capacitive screen with heater option

The sheet lists 5% to 95% RH condensing humidity, a capacitive multi-touch screen and an optional touchscreen heater. Its freezer section describes internal heating, a heated and vented UPS battery, temperature-controlled heaters, heated connectors, an elastomeric keyboard, and a flat front with drainage holes.

VC8300 10-inch

Separate standard and freezer versions

The standard version has a capacitive multi-touch screen and non-condensing humidity specification. The freezer version has a resistive touchscreen with passive stylus or finger operation, an integrated touchscreen heater and condensing-humidity support with internal heating.

The freezer sections also describe internal/external temperature sensors, heated boards, heated connectors, heater control and heated UPS batteries. Verify the exact installed heater package for the selected configuration.

FeatureVC8300 8-inchVC8300 10-inch
Operating temperature-22°F to 122°F / -30°C to 50°C.-22°F to 122°F / -30°C to 50°C.
Storage temperature-40°F to 140°F / -40°C to 60°C.-40°F to 140°F / -40°C to 60°C.
Humidity5% to 95% RH, condensing. Touchscreen heater is listed as an option.Standard: 5% to 95%, non-condensing.
Freezer: 5% to 95%, condensing, with internal heating.
SealingIP66.IP66.
Touchscreen impactA numeric impact-energy rating is not provided.Ball drop: 5 joules on the touchscreen; IEC EN 60079-15:2003.
Shock and vibrationIEC 60721-3-5M3; MIL-STD 810F; Zebra internal testing.IEC 60721-3-5M3; MIL-STD 810G Method 514.6 and Method 516.6.
Thermal shock-22°F to 122°F / -30°C to 50°C.-22°F to 122°F / -30°C to 50°C.
Salt fog48 hours, 5% solution at 35°C.48 hours, 5% solution at 35°C.
Solar radiationMIL-STD 810G Method 505.5.EN/IEC 60068-2-5 solar radiation spectral energy distribution; 1,120 W/m² at display surface; 40°C environmental temperature; 24-hour irradiation.
ESD±15 kV air; ±8 kV contact; ±8 kV indirect discharge.±20 kV air; ±10 kV contact; ±10 kV indirect discharge.
Drop height / tumble ratingNo device drop height or tumble count is specified.No device drop height or tumble count is specified.

IP66 is the stated sealing rating; neither sheet gives an immersion rating. Storage limits are not continuous operating limits. The 10-inch touchscreen ball-drop rating is not a whole-device drop-height rating.

Mounts and accessories

Plan the vehicle installation

Mounting options and legacy accessory references differ between the models.

FeatureVC8300 8-inchVC8300 10-inch
Mounting options listedRAM mount; quick-release mount; side-mounted scanner holder.RAM mount; quick-release mount; U-mount; adapter for legacy vehicle computer mounts.
Quick releaseA 10-second quick-release mount is described.A 10-second quick release is described for vehicle maintenance and device repair.
Existing accessory reuseBackward accessory compatibility is specifically footnoted for Zebra VC70 and VC50 vehicle mount computers.VC80x and other existing accessories are mentioned, without a detailed part-number compatibility matrix.
Keyboard mountingKeyboard is integrated.Optional mounting tray for the optional heated external keyboard.
Package contentsIncluded mounts, cables, scanners and other accessories are not listed as a complete box-content set.Included mounts, cables, scanners and other accessories are not listed as a complete box-content set.

The sheets do not establish universal compatibility between the 8-inch and 10-inch accessory sets. Confirm mount, keyboard, scanner holder, cable and antenna part numbers for the vehicle and selected computer.

Software and support

Applications, licenses and service coverage

Preloaded software, support requirements and PTT licensing are kept separate for each model.

FeatureVC8300 8-inchVC8300 10-inch
Ivanti Velocity / All-touch TEIvanti Velocity is preloaded and prelicensed. All-touch TE is preloaded for TE-to-touchscreen application migration.All-touch TE powered by Ivanti Velocity is described as preloaded and prelicensed; Ivanti Velocity is also listed in the specification table.
WorryFree WiFiDescribed as a free Mobility DNA tool.Described for improving WLAN performance.
StageNowFree and preloaded; Restricted Mode can deactivate and reactivate Google Mobile Services.Staging via a barcode scan or a plug-in USB drive is described.
LifeGuardLifeGuard for Android provides security updates and OS update control. LifeGuard Analytics is described as free with a Zebra OneCare support contract.LifeGuard for Android is described as included with every Zebra OneCare contract at no extra cost.
DataWedgeNot specifically described in the supplied 8-inch sheet.Sends captured barcodes to applications without coding or application changes.
Enterprise Home ScreenNot specifically described in the supplied 8-inch sheet.Controls user access to device features and applications.
Workforce Connect PTT ExpressIncluded, according to this sheet; small-group push-to-talk over Wi-Fi. Optional speaker/microphone.Optional license available for purchase; small-group push-to-talk over Wi-Fi. Optional external speaker/microphone.
Workforce Connect PTT ProSupported. License inclusion is not stated.Optional license available for purchase; also described as a subscription service.
PTT Pro capabilitiesNetwork-agnostic PTT, messaging, location services and two-way radio integration.Network-agnostic PTT, messaging, location services and two-way radio integration.
Development and platform toolsMobility DNA, Enterprise MDK, standard Android SDK, SOTI for Android and Analytics Agent.Mobility DNA, Enterprise MDK, standard Android SDK, SOTI for Android and Analytics Agent.
Hardware warrantyOne year from shipment against defects in workmanship and materials, subject to Zebra’s hardware warranty terms.One year from shipment against defects in workmanship and materials, subject to Zebra’s hardware warranty terms.
Recommended servicesZebra OneCare Essential and Select. AVS and OVS visibility services are options on OneCare support contracts.Zebra OneCare Essential and Select. AVS and OVS visibility services are options on OneCare support contracts.

Mobility DNA is available on Android only. Features vary by model and a support contract may be required. A feature not specifically described in one sheet is not a statement that it can never be supported. Current licensing, upgrade eligibility and service end dates are not established by these documents.

Markets and applications

Where the VC8300 fits

Both sheets list the following environments, workflows and vehicle types.

Facilities and yards

  • Warehouses
  • Manufacturing plants
  • Freezers
  • Outdoor yards
  • Airports and seaports
  • Railway yards

Material workflows

  • Receiving
  • Picking and packing
  • Shipping
  • Replenishment
  • Cross-docking
  • Work-in-process (WIP)

Forklift types

  • Sit-down forklifts
  • Standing forklifts
  • Enclosed forklifts
  • Extended-reach forklifts

Other vehicles

  • Yard mules and trucks
  • Cranes
  • Container bridges
FAQs

Common questions

What is the main difference between the 8-inch and 10-inch VC8300?

The 8-inch model combines an 8-inch, 1280 × 720, 1,000-nit screen with an integrated 67-key alphanumeric keyboard. The 10-inch model has a 10.4-inch, 1024 × 768, 400-nit screen, six programmable keys and an optional external heated keyboard. The 10-inch standard and freezer versions also use different touch technologies.

Is the 10-inch display actually 10.4 inches?

Yes. “VC8300 10-inch” is the product name, while its specification table lists a 10.4-inch XGA display with 1024 × 768 resolution and 400-nit brightness.

Which model has the brighter display?

The supplied sheets list 1,000 nits for the 8-inch model and 400 nits for the 10-inch model. The larger display is not the brighter one according to these specifications.

Is a keyboard included on both models?

The 8-inch VC8300 has an integrated, backlit, field-replaceable QWERTY or AZERTY keyboard with 67 keys and 12 direct function keys. The 10-inch model lists an optional heated external QWERTY or AZERTY keyboard and an optional mounting tray. Its built-in controls include six programmable keys and a diamond key for the on-screen keyboard.

Are all touchscreen versions the same?

No. The 8-inch sheet lists a capacitive multi-touch panel with Corning Gorilla Glass, plus heater and anti-reflective foil options. The standard 10-inch version uses capacitive multi-touch with Gorilla Glass. The 10-inch freezer version uses a resistive touchscreen operated by a passive stylus or finger, with an integrated touchscreen heater.

Can either model be used in a freezer?

Both sheets describe freezer use and an operating range of -22°F to 122°F / -30°C to 50°C. The 8-inch sheet lists 5% to 95% RH condensing humidity but identifies the touchscreen heater as optional. For the 10-inch model, standard humidity is non-condensing and the freezer version supports condensing humidity with internal heating. Verify the exact heater and freezer configuration before ordering.

What happens when the vehicle loses power?

Both sheets specify a UPS with a minimum 30-minute life over the full operating temperature range. This is backup power for interruptions to the vehicle supply, not a stated full-shift battery runtime. Both sheets describe heated and vented UPS batteries in their freezer sections.

What vehicle power supply is required?

The 8-inch sheet lists 10 to 60 V DC, isolated, internal. The 10-inch sheet gives 12 to 48 V DC nominal, 10 to 60 V DC minimum/maximum, and an isolated integrated supply. Neither sheet identifies direct AC mains input. Check the vehicle supply and installation components for the selected configuration.

Does a VC8300 have a built-in barcode scanner?

Neither supplied sheet specifies an integrated scan engine. Both list external scanner support: HID over USB/Bluetooth, SSI over USB/Bluetooth for DS/LI 36XX and RS6000, and serial RS-232 with power on pin 9. Scanner inclusion in the box is not stated.

Can existing terminal emulation applications be used?

Both sheets list Ivanti Velocity as preloaded and prelicensed, and describe running existing TE applications. All-touch TE is described for converting traditional green screens to interactive Android screens without coding. Confirm compatibility with your application and deployment requirements.

Is push-to-talk included?

The 8-inch sheet lists Workforce Connect PTT Express as included and PTT Pro as supported. The 10-inch sheet lists both PTT Express and PTT Pro as optional licenses for purchase, with PTT Pro also described as a subscription service. Both list an optional speaker/microphone. Do not assume the same licensing applies to both models.

Can I reuse mounts and accessories from an older vehicle computer?

The 8-inch sheet’s footnote names VC70 and VC50 accessory compatibility. The 10-inch sheet mentions VC80x and other existing accessories. Mount options differ, and neither sheet provides a complete compatibility matrix. Verify the exact mount, cable and accessory part numbers rather than assuming that every accessory is interchangeable.

Do both models support WPA3?

WPA3 Personal and Enterprise are listed in the supplied 10-inch sheet. The supplied 8-inch sheet lists WPA/WPA2 but does not list WPA3. That omission should not be treated as a current compatibility ruling for every software build; confirm the selected device and OS configuration if WPA3 is required.

Do these units ship with Android 14?

Both sheets state “Upgradeable to Android 14.” This describes an upgrade path and does not establish the Android version installed on the unit you order. Upgrade conditions and support end dates are not provided in these sheets.

Do the devices have cellular, GPS, cameras or NFC?

The supplied sheets specify Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and wired peripheral interfaces. They do not provide cellular, SIM, GPS hardware, camera or NFC specifications. PTT Pro’s location-services description does not establish a built-in GPS receiver.

Are the dimensions and weight really the same?

Yes. Both supplied sheets list 10.87 × 9.37 × 3.54 inches / 276 × 238 × 90 mm (W × H × D), and 8.2 lb / 3.7 kg. The values above reproduce the documents even though display and keyboard arrangements differ.

What warranty and support are listed?

Both list a one-year hardware warranty from shipment against defects in workmanship and materials, subject to Zebra’s terms. Zebra OneCare Essential and Select are recommended support services. Asset Visibility Services and Operational Visibility Services are options on OneCare contracts.

What comes in the box, and what still needs to be confirmed?

Neither sheet provides complete box contents, included mounting hardware, cable part numbers, UPS capacity, charging time, expandable-storage capacity or the factory Android version. Confirm those details along with the exact model, freezer features, keyboard, scanner, antenna and software licenses for the selected part number.

Sources: Zebra, VC8300 Vehicle Mount Computer Product Spec Sheet (vc8300-spec-sheet-en-gb.pdf), pages 1-4, and VC8300 10-inch Product Spec Sheet (vc8300-10-spec-sheet-en-gb.pdf), product details on pages 1-4. Model-specific values above follow their respective supplied documents.

Find the right VC8300 configuration

Contact us to confirm screen size, keyboard, freezer features, mounting hardware, vehicle power, external scanner and software licenses for your operation.